To Answer Your Question

Since 2011, I have lost over 70 pounds. Yes, I really did weigh enough to say that I lost that much weight and need to lose more.

Many people have asked me how I have done it. It has definitely been a challenge, especially since I had my gallbladder removed a few years back. If I understand it correctly, the gallbladder has a lot to do with how the body processes fats. Without a gallbladder, a person tends to add weight on quickly, and have a difficult time ridding themselves of it.

I did not know this when mine was removed, or during the period of weight gain afterward. I put on a lot of weight and felt quite down on myself. I honestly didn’t know if I could lose that much weight again.

I did some research and realized the number of people who had not been told what or how to eat after gallbladder removal. They had put on weight and were quite furious about the lack of information out there.

At this point in my life, I was tired of myself. I frequently looked at myself in the mirror and cried. I absolutely hated myself, and felt unworthy to walk this Earth.

I realized that I could hope and pray, I could wish for things to be different. But unless I changed myself, nothing would ever get better.

Let me say, I have not always been overweight. I have had years of being very skinny, and years of not being thin. I have gained a lot of weight and thrown it off. I knew that I had been able to do it before, but could I do it without my gallbladder?

I started small. I know my triggers for bad behavior, and I know the things that discourage me. I needed to make my goal attainable. I needed encouragement along the way.

I decided to make a goal of doing some sort of exercise 30 minutes a day, three days a week. It didn’t matter which days I chose, as long as it was at least 30 minutes three times a week. In that way, I eliminated the danger of being held back by the little things. If it rained that day, and I didn’t feel like walking in the rain, I could choose another day. If I had an appointment and it threw my schedule off, the same applied.

The second thing I did was apply sensible eating. I stopped putting butter on my toast or other food. I stopped eating fried or high-fat foods. I also chose smaller portions and absolutely no snack foods at all.

In the first few months, I lost 25 pounds. In the first year, I lost about 50 or so.

A little over a year in, I slipped a tiny bit and convinced myself I could eat pizza once a week. Wrong! My body no longer processes that much fat. I put about 15 more pounds on, and stopped talking so much about the weight loss.

You see, I have discovered that if I am talking about it, I’m excited about it, and I’m making myself accountable to others. A sure way to fail is to tell no one about your goal.

In 2013, at the urging of several friends, I went to see a Naturopathic Doctor. He has made a big difference in my life.

I was tired of doing so much exercise, eating a mostly low fat diet, but achieving no progress. I was reaching out for help, and he gave me the help that I needed.

He put me on a bunch of supplements, and told me to stop eating wheat, dairy, and rice, plus a bunch of other things. One of the supplements that he gave me stimulates my thyroid. Another is a Fat Grabber.

Within the first week of starting the supplements, especially the thyroid supplement, I lost six pounds. Since then, I have lost over 40 pounds.

I work at a very active job, so I get exercise several hours a day, five days a week. I feel good and I have hope.

I hope that this has helped those who have been curious, or those who are curious about Natural Healing, or feel stuck inside of themselves. I have been there; I get it.

Posted on January 15, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Well done Maxine. I also need to loose a good 70 pounds of so. Your story is an inspiring one and I am sure many will look up to you as they start or continue travelling their weight loss journey.
    keep up the great work.

    • Thank you, Alex! As you know, it really is a journey. It’s not a simple path that we follow. There are bumps and discouragements along the way.
      I’m not there yet, but I can see the light once again. I compare it to a kind of addiction. You wouldn’t put a crack addict in a room full of crack, and say, “Now, don’t touch that crack.”
      When someone who struggles with their weight is still fighting it and doesn’t always feel strong, you wouldn’t put them in a room full of snacks and say, “Don’t touch a single one.”
      As with regular addicts, we have to know what our triggers are and what to stay away from. That’s just my take on it.

Leave a Reply

