Little Victories

My son and I recently went to see a natural healing doctor. My goals for Cameron include help with his Chronic Lyme Disease, weight issues, lack of proper nutrition, and his high-functioning Autism.

The doctor had us bring some fluids in for testing. While there, we also had to put our hand on this machine for several minutes. This machine “read” certain things about us, and posted them on the screen. Later, we each had pictures taken of each eye. Again, the results were posted on a screen, which the doctor examined at great length. 

After these things were done, he went over each of our results in detail. He gave us a list of supplements, which would help with each of our complaints/issues.

Cameron’s supplements finally arrived yesterday. They included things like Focus Attention Powder, Slippery Elm (which helps with the digestive tract and skin irritations), Licorice Root (to balance adrenals), Mineral Chi Tonic (helps build physical; mental; and emotional energy; and helps with things like promoting cellular metabolism), and Digestive Bitters (which increases stomach digestion). 

I put all of these things into his bottle of “Super Water,” a phrase that I made up to get him to take water with Chlorophyll in it a while back. I was trying to watch, without being obvious.

I was nervous about this little excursion into the unknown, because he does not handle new textures or tastes well. This is the child who cannot eat yogurt or pudding, because the texture makes his throw up.

Some of these things were powder; some of them were liquids. I was uncertain of how much the powders would break up, or if any of these ingredients would turn him off with the taste. 

His first taste was revealing. He said, “Something in this drink tastes BAD!”

I told him to sip slowly, so it would all go down better. He was only halfway through the mixture, when he spewed on my floor and kitchen table. 

I was so discouraged! This stuff was supposed to help him, but how would that be accomplished, if I couldn’t get it into him?

He finished the rest of the bottle, and I tried to be positive. I said, “Maybe you’ll do better tomorrow.”

His dad spoke without thinking. “Yeah, right.”

Cameron said, “No.”

Again, the discouraged feeling tried to take over. I prayed silently, “Please show me how to get this stuff into him. He needs it so much.”

Later, I spent some time in my friends’ store. I released some of my discouraged feelings there. 

On the way home, I was struck with an idea. I  would give him two pretzel rods at breakfast, and encourage him to sip the drink and take a bite of pretzel afterward. The salt might even out the taste and provide a distraction from the taste of the mixture.

I put all of these things into his drink this morning. I increased the water slightly. I then placed two pretzels on his plate and waited for him to awaken. 

When he got up, I had him do the drink and all that before his regular medicine. I thought that if he threw up, at least he could still get his medicine in.

My plan worked! It took a while, but he got the drink and everything else into him. And it stayed!

I was so thrilled! I just kept praying, “Thank you, Father. Thank you so much!”

With the diet changes that we’ve made with Cameron since the visit with the doctor, and the supplements that are now going into him, he should be on the right path before very long. He has already lost about six pounds, mostly from diet changes.

We all know that eating and digestive challenges are a major issue for the Autistic. I am attempting to conquer this, one step at a time.

 

Posted on September 7, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. WOW! You mean we’re not the only family with a child that has both Autism and Lyme? So glad to have found you…

    • Yes, and we Autism parents thought the Autism alone was enough. Of course, with Autism, you usually get some other issues. He is the only child of four with year-round allergies, eczema, asthma from birth, and now the Lyme. Everyone else in our home can go out into the woods for hours and not get a tick. If he went out unprotected for even an hour, he’d likely come in with a tick.

      • I feel the same about my son. He hates going outside now that he has the Lyme. We finally convinced him one day to go help my husband on a project in the garage. My son decided to help me out and go get the mail. We didn’t know that a beehive was starting under the mailbox, and my son was stung on the hand. He came in, crying, and said, “See Mommy? This is why I won’t go outside!”

        My son has never been able to catch even ONE break in his life. Makes me sad. 😦

      • And I can’t tell you how many times I have said, “I never thought Autism would be the least of our problems!”

  2. I know exactly what you mean. If it’s not ticks, it’s snakes. If it’s not snakes, it’s bees.
    When he was diagnosed with Lyme, I had tears in my eyes (which I shed more fully out of his presence). I said, “Doesn’t he have it bad enough? Did he really need Lyme on top of it?”
    He also has asthma, which wasn’t diagnosed right away. He has had pneumonia three times, two times for which he was hospitalized.
    When he got the Lyme Meningitis, he was hospitalized for four days. He then went home with a PICC line in his arm. I had to administer his antibiotics every day for about a month. It was a hard time, especially since I had just started a new job.

Leave a Reply

