Having a Bad Day and Simply Venting, Genuinely Concerned, or Dangerous?

The van dropped Cameron off about half an hour ago. The driver waited ’til Cameron had entered the house, before gesturing for me to approach more closely.

He said, “I’m getting tired of that kid, Tristan. He waits ’til he gets out of the van, and then yells, ‘See ya later, Chicken’ at Cameron.”

He went on to say, “I have had enough. It’s a good thing I had my seat belt on today, ’cause I was about to jump out and grab that kid.”

I expressed my shock. I didn’t quite know what to say.

He said that he would be talking to the parents of said child, and that if something didn’t change for the better, the kid was off the van. Both Cameron and the driver have been dealing with this all year.

Last time, it was handled by separating the boys, having the two boys who were bothering Cameron write letters of apology to Cameron, and being spoken to by the teacher. Apparently, at least one of the boys has found a way around this.

I thanked the driver for watching out for Cameron, and encouraged him to speak to Tristan’s parents. He nodded in a dismissive way, indicating that the conversation was over, now that he had said his peace. 

I was left wondering if my initial concerns about his heart for Autistic children, or lack thereof, were justified. I don’t want to pass judgment, but I want all of the children to be safe, even those who are bothering Cameron.

Posted on October 23, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I think it might be a good idea to talk to someone in charge at the school. It sounds like the driver doesn’t want to be bothered with kids that are autistic.

    • I mentioned my concerns once before to his teacher, but received no input in response. I really feel like this guy doesn’t have the heart to work with Autistic children, even as a driver. He seems to think that because most of the children on the van are high-functioning Autistics, that they are not really special needs, or that they just need a good kick in the butt to change their behavior.
      Frankly, I was horrified that he had even thought about having any kind of physical interaction with any of the kids. The drivers aren’t supposed to interact that closely with the children.

      • What about someone higher up then his teacher? It’s not right for him to say that kind of stuff.

        • I thought about contacting the van service he works for, since it is totally separate entity from the school. However, when I voiced a different concern in the past (the need to tell us when they suddenly change drivers, as that throws Autistic kids off), they didn’t even respond, and kept doing it.
          There is another teacher/Special Education Coordinator that I may be able to speak to. She works with the school, but also with the whole school district. She is the one who got us set up with the wonderful school that he is currently in.
          We have developed a real friendship, and she really cares about Cameron. Perhaps I will ask for her advice.

Leave a Reply

