Reverse Psychology

Every now and then, Cameron pulls what we call “an Alicia.” Alicia is one of his older sisters. She has always been quite dramatic. When she was younger, if she got put into the corner for punishment, she would remain in the corner or at the end of the hall, even after she had been released from her punishment. It was almost as if she was saying, “I’ll show you. I’ll stay in the corner! Even if you say I can watch television now, I’ll stay right here. You’ll feel so bad.”

She didn’t say those words, but her actions definitely reflected that pattern of thinking. When she would pull that, we would say something like, “Fine. Stay there. It’s not hurting us if you miss your shows.”

Last night was one of the nights that Cameron pulled “An Alicia.” He was mad at his daddy for something, so he was showing what he apparently thinks is a subtle mind game.

He sleeps in the same room with us, but on the other side of the room, in his own bed. I was laying on my bed and watching television. He was laying in bed and supposed to be working on going to sleep. 

Eventually, I heard his voice. “I’m going to throw my pillow on the floor.” 

I said, “Oh good. I’ll come over and step on it.” 

There was a brief silence, and then he spoke again. “I’m going to put my pillow on the floor, mommy”

Again, I said, “I don’t care. I’ll just come over and step on it.”

A moment later, I heard a soft thump from the other side of the room. There was a pause, and then Cameron sighed. “I wish I had something soft and squishy to put my head on.”

I said, “Oh well. I guess you don’t.”

He tried something like that a while later and got the same results. After that, he gave up.

About 30 minutes later, I went to the bathroom. When I came back, he had his pillow under his head.

I knew that his whole routine had been designed to garner attention. Because of that, I purposely refused to acknowledge the presence of the pillow or the fact that I had won.

Posted on May 24, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

